Climb the Cliff

I needed a cliff to climb.

I had been to the party and knew,

Vodka Red Bulls hurt in the morning.

I danced into the night with fire.

I split reality with illusion and wonder.

It was fun, fantasy, and foolishness.

But it was all washed away in adulthood.

I needed to climb the cliff.

I realized ecstasy was a drug that lasted,

Only under strobing lights like stars,

And are drowned out by clouds, beer, and wine.

And then slowly, under a quiet campfire,

I realized… I am getting old.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Climb the Cliff

  1. Wow. That’s a cliff alright. 🙂 Getting old ain’t for sissies.

Leave a Reply

