Winter in Bodaga Bay

Winter comes with wisps of fog

that slip into the gullies

and pour down the thin riverbeds

that lead to Bodega Bay;

“A quaint little drinking town with a fishing problem.”

Crab pots stack atop tiny white boats

with blue trim and Christmas lights drift by.

A captain wearing Santa’s cap and his crew

in reindeer antlers wave as they pass.

Inside Lucas Wharf,

red nosed clowns sip warm cocktails by the hearth.

Friends of the local folk band Stiff Dead Cat

jam for dollars and the occasional free beer.

All the while the ocean slaps ashore and roars.

In sync with the celebration.

2 Comments

Filed under Poems

2 responses to “Winter in Bodaga Bay

  1. Dean, just as I read the line ending with … “Stiff Dead Cat”, my kitty Max jumped up in my lap and Looked at the screen. I tried to distract him, but I think he’s upset. I’ll try and explain.

    In the meantime, I love your poem, especially the way it ends, the way you wrap it all up. Beautiful work, as always.

  2. Thanks, Melody, Stiff Dead Cat is a great local band with a bad, bad, name. Apologize to Max for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

